A Day in the Life

Alrighty. So, it’s almost the end of November. This semester has flown by. I’ll be honest, it has taken me a while to get back into the groove, and I don’t think I’m groovin’ easy just yet, but I’m getting there. This year has been a whirlwind of activity for me. Here’s the run down for all the crazy life events thus far:

– I finished up a two year mission for The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints
– I moved a couple thousand miles from Western Pennsylvania back to Washington State
– Took a trip to Utah to apply for a job
– Got the job working 20 hours a week as an English and Religious Studies teacher
– Found out I lost my grandfather the same day I found out I got the job
– Went to California for the funeral
– Then I moved to Utah
– Started school
– Made new friends
– Lost my grandmother
– Left school to go to California again
– Came back and recorded an album

So yeah. That’s my life. Most of the time I feel like I’m barely keeping my head above water. I’m still playing catch up with my school work, but I figure that’ll come in time. I just need to keep at it and everything will turn out for the best. So even though it’s a source of stress for me, I’m not unduly concerned about it.

What makes me feel so blessed and so fortunate, despite all the crazy stuff that’s gone on this year, is the fact that things are really looking up for me artistically. I’ve crossed paths with some truly stellar people and I’ve gotten to work closely with them on various projects the last few days. An example of what I did today:

12 PM. I dressed up like Ash Ketchem from Poke’mon and met up with my buddy Kyle to film some dance sequences for one of the projects we’re working on. It’s pretty hush-hush. You know, secrets and stuff. But I thought this might pique your interest.

Image

“I CHOOSE YOU!”

4 PM I had a fantastic Men’s Chorus rehearsal.

After that, I got to meet up with Dane Christensen. You should check out his work here:

We met each other in the hallway last week when Kyle and I were shooting with the cast of Poke’mon Love Song. We swapped numbers and such. He contacted me and asked if I’d be willing to help him and Emily lay down some tracks for one of their film projects. I was happy to do so.

Image

So I took my spot behind the computer and played the part of producer. We had a great time, as evidenced by this picture of us having a great time in the sound booth.

photo 1
Anyway, I came home feeling very fulfilled, and very grateful that God has put such wonderful opportunities before me. I’m grateful for the world around me, even though it rolls onto my shoulders and gets heavy on occasion. It’s worth the strain and the effort, because when you overcome the weight of the world, you feel true power flow into your life, and nothing can surpass the joy that that brings.
Here’s to tomorrow. I appreciate tomorrows.
Leave a Reply

