Battle Scars

I spend a lot of time watching the movies.
Sometimes my head gets lost in dreams,
But no one can stop the moon from moving –
And it’s the only thing that still moves me.

Love is all kinds of crazy: it keeps summer around
Long after it’s gone and snow is coming down.
Let memory be my blanket and soul my lucky charm.
Somehow I’ve escaped it, but I’ve got battle scars.

I find I’m hopelessly romantic
In everything I do and say.
That’s why my smile is automatic:
My head is stuck on summer days.

But somewhere deeper there is sadness,
And I can’t make it go away.
In every silence there is madness.
In every sung note, there is shame.

Love is all kinds of crazy: it keeps summer around
Long after it’s gone and snow is coming down.
Let memory be my blanket and soul my lucky charm.
Somehow I’ve escaped it, but I’ve got battle scars.

Leave a Reply

