My Life is a Comedy

The Street

I ran down this street tonight.

It was 1 o’clock AM, and I ran without restraint. My spirit was soaring, my heart was full, and my body knew no limits. I ran without any fatigue whatsoever for seven blocks – my breath was controlled and even, though I ran at a full sprint. Occasionally my warm breath would fog my glasses, and this made me want to laugh. So I did.

No cars on the street and the city either asleep or indoors, I may have skipped and jumped a little.

Maybe… Don’t tell anyone.

But heck, how could I not? My mind was opened to the visions of eternity, and I was joyous.

I was asked tonight, point blank, what I would do today if I knew I were to die tomorrow. Well, tomorrow is coming. I can honestly say tonight that if I were to die tomorrow, I’d just do this day over again exactly as it went and die a happy man.

Why?

Because my life is a comedy.

Tragedy depicts mortals in dire, humbling, bleak, and almost unconquerable circumstances. It opens our eyes to our limitations, helps us understand our fatal flaws in character, provides us with sympathy and understanding, and teaches us to value our humanity and reject our base carnality. In short, tragedy showcases mortals living in mortality. Mortality is tragic.

For example, picture the following scenario being played by Will Smith in the vein of “The Pursuit of Happyness.:” An amateur businessman who has grown up his entire life in poverty is about to make it big. Offered an outrageously lucky promotion by the big cheese of his corporation, this man spends his entire week preparing for a job interview to secure said promotion. He presses his shirts and dry cleans his suits and shines his shoes. He studies for hours every day and misses important life events so that he can succeed. He doesn’t even take the time to eat. So engrossed in his fretful preparation is he that he rarely sleeps, and when he does, he dreams about the promotion. He is more than a little nervous, but he is determined to succeed. When the big day finally comes, the battery in his alarm clock dies, and he sleeps through it. Awakening naturally, he finds he is running late. He hurriedly readies himself, and looking disheveled and leaving without breakfast, he makes his way outside to make an attempt at crossing an icy driveway to his car. Upon attempting this, he slips, flails madly, and falls straight on his back. What results is a trip to the hospital, a missed interview, and no promotion.

Tragic, huh?

We’ve all had moments like this before. We’ve all come up a minute late and a dollar short. We’ve all tasted the bitter dregs of the cup of mortality. I sure have had my sips.

But my life is far from tragic.

After having done this, go back and read the same scenario as played by Will Ferrell in the vein of Ron Burgandy. See the difference?

We love comedy because it showcases immortal beings dealing with mortal problems. No matter how outlandish the trial, how ridiculous the issue, how insurmountable the odds, the protagonist always comes out on top due to his or her heart, intellect, resilience, and attitude. The trials, though impossible to overcome to us real mortals, are minuscule and inconsequential when compared to the rock steady attributes of the protagonist. Picture adults struggling with first grade math problems. Gods struggling with first rate human problems.

Why was I so happy tonight?

I realized tonight that I am immortal. I lived before, I am alive now, and after death I will live again. And though earth and hell conspire against me to cripple or destroy my body, nothing can destroy my soul. Nothing.

The last six months have been the hardest of my life. But tonight, everything – every trial, every tear, every worry, every past mistake – convalesced into one glorious whole and was unfolded to my understanding. In a few blessed hours, everything that I once deemed insurmountable, damaging, painful, or tragic about my life suddenly became inconsequential. The tragedies were swallowed up in laughter, in energy, in life, in joy. I don’t think I will ever be able to fully explain the feeling I had tonight. Laughter continued to roll from the deepest part of me for a long, long while. I had so much energy released that I couldn’t help but laugh and run.

My life is a comedy, and so is yours. If you live according to the firm demands of justice and mercy through the whisperings of the most ennobling part of your conscience, you can find this joy. When you face life with a positive attitude, a forgiving and open heart, and integrity and intellect, you receive a taste of what it will be like to live forever without restraint, sorrow, agony, worry, or woe.

Few people will probably understand this, or why I’m writing it, or whatever. It’s 2 AM now and honestly I’m falling asleep while writing this. But I had to get it out.

Everything about my past is richly and meaningfully hilarious to me now. This has nothing to do with romance, nothing to do with things working out for me, but it has everything to do with heaven in my heart.

My name is Zach Collier, and I appreciate true happiness.

Leave a Reply

