The EP is Here

On Monday, May 4th, DateNight released their debut EP, “Get it Started.” The EP consists of 6 tracks – 4 brand new songs in addition to “It Feels Good” and “Chloe.” You can listen to the entire EP through the playlist above. It’s also available on iTunes, Spotify, Rdio, Google Play, Amazon, and pretty much anywhere else internet and music related.

It’s always been my dream to record and release a studio album. Working with DateNight and Dave Zimmerman on this project has been absolutely unreal. I’ve never fretted over something so much – thought so intensely about something – all the way from start to finish before. Most of my life has been spent going through systems other people have established – consuming products other people have made. In essence, I’ve always been living as an extension of someone else’s dreams. This EP, from start to finish, was all us. It was me and my friends. Our dreams, our plans, our goals, our sweat, our tears. We made it happen. It’s quite a feeling to think back and remember a thought I had when I was living in Uniontown, Pennsylvania 3 years ago, and then to go to my iPod, turn it on and listen to it in the way that I could only imagine back then.

Sandro called me a few weeks ago, after we wrapped production on “Get it Started,” and he left me a message. He said: “So, I just got done with a final that I needed to turn in and I’m driving up to BYU from the library to do that, and I’m driving past 200 East right by where Casa Dea was and Liberty Square, and it just took me back to last summer. And I’m just thinking about us hanging out and playing music and dreaming. And I’m just driving with the windows down and ‘Parking Lot’ is playing through the radio. Our EP was playing through my car radio. And it just hit me and I had this moment where I realized that I am currently living in the days that I dreamed about a year ago. Such a cool moment. I wanted to share it. Love ya bro.”

I can check this off my bucket list, right? I’ve lived my dream.

Yet there are so many songs to sing, so many albums to record, so many thoughts I haven’t had yet, so many things I haven’t done. I don’t want to die with all my music in me. I want to make sure every song is sung – and that those who need to hear what I have to say hear it. I can’t describe what music is to me. It’s like I have a fire in my bones, and I can’t keep it in. It has to come out. I have to keep going. Because what I’ve accomplished, as great as it is, isn’t enough.

“You cannot get sick enough to help sick people get better. You cannot get poor enough to help poor people thrive. It is only in your thriving that you have anything to offer anyone. If you’re wanting to be of an advantage to others, be as tapped in, turned in, turned on as you can possibly be.”
– Esther Abraham-Hicks

So here’s to the future. I hope you enjoy what we have created. And I hope it intrigues you enough to want to stick around and hear what else we have to offer.

My name is Zach Collier, and I appreciate living the dream.

Leave a Reply

